Thanks, Mom

May 6, 2008

 

Mother’s Day is around the corner. ‘Tis the season to count her blessings. Or try to.

I don’t think there is quite enough space on the internet to list the number of generous, selfless acts my own mother has committed on my behalf, both recently and not-as-recently, so I have decided instead to focus on something very specific. Her devotion is perfectly encapsulated in the following image (and also in the picture above, which will seem less abstract when you read the next paragraph)…

She is perched on the edge of a hotel bed leaning toward the light on the nightstand. The rest of the room is dark so that my brother and I can sleep. She has just driven several hours toward this destination, or perhaps navigated us here from an airport. She squints through her reading glasses to coax the end of a thread through the eye of a needle and then the needle through the eye of a sequin. And then another. And another.

Just as it’s difficult to guess exactly how many candies are in a glass jar, it’s impossible to say how many beads she has already sewn on this costume (or on all the ones that have come before). But she wants to finish up that last row, even though, were it missing, only she and I would know.

Through this and many other examples she has demonstrated that, where kindness is concerned, many small things add up to something far bigger.

Thank you, Mom, for making me sparkle, one bead at a time. 

                                                               ***

What about you? We’ve already addressed the legendary amounts of chauffeuring skating mamas undertake on a daily basis (see Skating Mom Shuffle/Shuttle), but what else stands out for you? Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there.

Also, an update: I’m probably not going to open that restaurant, after all. Check out my piece on this topic posted today on one of my favorite humor webzines, by clicking on: http://www.yankeepotroast.org/archives/2008/05/eggs_on_the_bru.html 

Finally: Do your moods seem almost entirely dependent on the weather? There is a type of depression called Seasonal Affective Disorder, the acronym of which is, appropriately, S.A.D. But I have my own theory…click on Cusp of Greatness over to the right.   

 

6 Responses to “Thanks, Mom”

  1. pat Says:

    I’ve got to hand it to my mom as well for everything she did but where skating dresses were concerned she was more of an “applique” kind of mom rather than an individual bead kind of mom. Do parents even do the beading anymore?

  2. Mrs Redboots Says:

    It’s not Mother’s Day here in England – we celebrate it on Mothering Sunday, back before Easter! And I was the mother when we started skating…. my own mother has come to watch once or twice, but never made my costumes or anything. She’s still a lovely mother, though – even though she did try to treat me as though I were 10 years old and just starting to cook over the weekend (I’m more than 5 times as old, and have been cooking for myself and family for the best part of 40 years!)

  3. sitspin Says:

    To answer Pat above: yes, parents still do beading! But there are iron-on versions and glue-on versions. A lot of parents do just pay to have it done though, as well.

  4. Zenskate Says:

    I never saw my mother with a needle in her hand, but she did some pretty crafty work with glue and safety pins for Halloween costumes for my sister and I. Another nice piece of writing. Thank you.

  5. DVJ Says:

    when my mom made mistakes during beading my dresses,she would get so frustrated!She was always saying how difficult is was to handle the slippery skating dress material and the beads…in the end the dresses came out beautifully…If only all my performances were…

  6. Beadle Says:

    My mamma can whip yo mamma at beading, sewing, silly dancing or anything else any day of the week.

Leave a Reply

