Holidaymania

December 16, 2008

ornamentarch-003

Well, you know how much I heart writing this blog, but I’ve gotten caught up in a few thousand other things this week. Like painting ornaments, baking Scottish shortbread cookies (my grandmother’s recipe), and being just generally elf-y.

Above is an example of the ornaments I painted last year. Would you like to purchase one? They are one of a kind, and only $999.99!

Amid all the gift wrapping (and okay, also some rapping), I did this week, I managed to fit in just a bit of writing for other equally wonderful sites…

To read my article for icenetwork about Ann Patrice McDonough and Jonathon Hunt performing with the Rockettes in the Radio City Christmas Spectacular, click here.

To read my piece for the Upper East Informer about the joy of gift-giving (especially gifts under $15), click here.

And tune in to Current Skate of Mind next week. Charlie Brown and the Peanuts Gang turn out to be accomplished skaters. Unfortunately, we all know that this sport is all about how you skate on the day of the performance…Good grief.  

Finally, here are three holiday jokes that are sure to secure your popularity with kids and adults:

What do santa’s helpers learn in school? The elf-abet. 

Why does Santa have three gardens? So he can hoe, hoe, hoe. 

How do sheep in Mexico say Merry X-mas? Fleece Navidad.  

(Oh, and the way you are shaking your head at me right now? Be careful not to sprain your neck.)

***

What is your elf-quotient? I’m probably 112 out of 100. Click on “comment” below.   

7 Responses to “Holidaymania”

  1. RWT Says:

    I think I’ll put myself at about 92. I do try to bring on the cheer but every year seems to get busier.

  2. Santino Says:

    FYI – that “elf-abet” they’re learning up North there – it’s short one letter: No L.

  3. Jenn Says:

    Ha! What do you call people who are afraid of santa claus?

    Claus-trophobic.:)

  4. Mrs Redboots Says:

    And you Americans don’t even _have_ Christmas crackers to get the awful jokes out of from…..

  5. Henner Says:

    I would like to order one of those ornaments. Please let me know when they go on about a 80 or 90 percent discount!

  6. a skating student Says:

    Hi, as the holidays approach, I and many of my skating friends face the question of what to get our coaches as a gift. We have the same problem every year!!! Any suggestions?

  7. BA Says:

    Cute jokes. Looking forward to reading your other articles you linked in. Good idea.

Leave a Reply

