Center Ice, on Bended Knee

December 24, 2008

rockefeller-0014

(Every once in a while, there comes a time,
When all you can do is, um… rhyme?)

So, here goes:

A little breathless, a little dazed,
Utterly ecstatic and still amazed.

He got down on bended knee,
Opened a tiny gray box with glee.

Rockefeller Rink, snowflakes fell,
Applause from the crowd began to swell.

The tree sparkled and so did the ring,
Of course my heart started to sing.

Yes, I said, drinking happiness, as if from a cup.
He grinned and grinned…then asked if I could help him up.

                                                              ***

Thank you to friends and family for your well-wishes. And thank you, Rob, for a night, a dream-like scenario, a brief yet infinite moment I will never forget.

Happy Holidays.

27 Responses to “Center Ice, on Bended Knee”

  1. Jason Says:

    Congrats Jocelyn + Rob 🙂

  2. Strats Says:

    Thank you for saying yes…and the helping hand up 🙂

  3. Elise Says:

    I’m drinking happiness for you!
    So happy for you; I can’t wait to meet Romeo!
    Enjoy 🙂

  4. skateoholic Says:

    aww!

    🙂 too cute 🙂 congratulations!!

  5. DVJ Says:

    What great news! I am so happy for you Jocelyn.He will be a very lucky man!
    Merry Christmas!!

  6. Kai, Tomoeh and Archie Says:

    Congratulations! Best news ever!

  7. Ann-Marie Says:

    You deserve all the happiness in the world! Must see the man and the ring! A pilgrimage will be scheduled soon, but PR is a lot nicer this time of year!

  8. Rachelle Says:

    To JJ and Rob, you make quite a pair
    This is even better than the curls in my hair
    Maribel can’t wait to don her party dress
    and celebrate with you and wish you the best
    Even Frida can’t contain the glow in her heart
    as she learns of the news while continuing to fart (it’s a boston terrier thing, they say)
    What wonderful news to greet the new year
    Congratulations, friends, and thanks for the cheer.
    Love, Rachelle and Byron

  9. spicedaddy Says:

    He liked it, and he put a ring on it! Take THAT, Beyonce!

    It’s nice to know that mastering the sweetheart hold in ice dancing is not mutually exclusive with actually HAVING a sweetheart!

    I am so, so, so very happy for you.

  10. Evelyn Says:

    I agree that Rob is a very lucky man. I can’t wait to meet him. Best wishes to both of you and a big cyber-hug.

  11. Joy Says:

    Sounds like a scene out of a romantic movie that every girl dreams about.
    I am so happy for you. Congratulations to you both!

  12. Cindy Woods Says:

    To Jocelyn and Rob,

    Congratulations!! It sounded like a beautiful and special night. Many blessings to you both..

  13. Cathy Kent Says:

    Woo-hoo, how romantic!! Congratulations to you both!! We are so happy for you! What a magical way to tell someone how much you love them.
    Clark and Cathy

  14. Kami Says:

    That made me cry!!! Congrats to you both.

  15. zee Says:

    oh my god, congratulations!!! and what a perfect proposal… happy holidays indeed! 🙂

  16. Jennifer Says:

    Congratulations Jocelyn. How sweet – and I’m so very happy for you both! Best Wishes…

  17. Bob & Sandy Strati Says:

    Congratulations to both of you. A moment in time that seemed blessed by nature itself. Time, weather, and the people applauding the celebration of the love shared by both of you.
    The joy is contagious, we feel it here in Ohio!

  18. Impressed by Midwest Says:

    Rhyming is fine
    Anytime
    I must say,
    And the reason you did
    Makes me cheer Hip Hooray!
    So keep on with sonnets
    And use alliteration
    Cause out here by Columbus
    They’re quite the sensation
    Your news is so joyful
    In this season on joys
    So crack open some bubbly
    And make a great noise.

    Congrats!!!

  19. Pat Harran Says:

    Congradulations to you both so happy for you Rob. I am an old family friend of the Stratis and a former New Yorker and it sounded just fanciful and wonderful. Love to both of you…..Patsy

  20. Mrs Redboots Says:

    Congratulations, and from one who celebrates her 30th wedding anniversary next year with my wonderful dance and pairs partner – be happy!

  21. Karen Lacher Says:

    Congratulations to you both! I am so very, very happy and excited for you!
    A new beginning, a lifetime of greatness…and what a romantic beginning….
    and I pray that the Lord will bless you both each and every day.
    Love,
    Karen


  22. Oooooohhhh! Congratulations! I am so happy for both of you!

    Sheila

  23. Marcy Says:

    Jocelyn, your writing is awesome!! Jocelyn and Rob your engagement perfect and amazing!! I cant wait to celebrate with you both !!!!
    With lots of love, Marcy

  24. Annette Says:

    Best Wishes Joc!!! Congratulations, Rob! What an incredible story!!! Love to you both in 2009!

  25. Lucy Karnani Says:

    Oh Jocelyn, I am soooooooooo happy for you!!! Rob is a very lucky guy. I wish you both every happiness in life and more! Lots of Love, LUCY xxxooo

  26. Amy Glaze Says:

    Rob – I can’t believe it! I am soooo happy for you. Each time I hear the story I want to cry. Your life has come full circle and you deserve the best. I am so glad you found J in New York and I wish you all the best! Thanks for keep me in the loop. I have heard from Marcy that your woman is perfect for you and the two of you have so much fun together! I can’t wait to meet her and read more about your wonderful lifes together!

  27. The Wintering Clan Says:

    Rob & Jocelyn,
    Congratulations and best wishes from all of us to both of you. So happy for you both! A bit delayed in our well wishes but the spirit of the message is as strong as ever. Many happy years together! Rob, we were all so very happy to see you this last summer. Hope to meet Jocelyn too! God bless.

Leave a Reply

